The Australian network for garlic growers, sellers, processors and wholesalers.

2024 Australian Garlic Awards

The Australian Garlic Awards are designed to foster knowledge and awareness of garlic Groups. Different types of garlic have been specifically developed or selected for certain traits. These might include flavour profile, bulb size, storage characteristics, or adaptability to various climates and growing conditions. By recognising different garlic Groups, the awards aim to celebrate the diversity and quality of Australian-grown garlic and support growers in their efforts to produce top-quality crops.

The purpose of the awards is manyfold:
– It is an Australian wide award program that is dedicated to promoting Australian garlic excellence, with experts judging against the true characteristics of a garlic Group.
– All entrants receive feedback on how their garlic ranks against the characteristics of its Garlic group.
– Award winners are able to use their medal toolkit as a recognised national brand for marketing their garlic to consumers.
– The award competition is open to commercial Australian growers.
– There is total entrant anonymity.

Results 2024

Gold: 1 award
Silver: 20 awards
Bronze: 4 awards

Click here for the result details

Judges Comment:
“It has been a tough growing year for many garlic growers, but the overall standard has been very high.
The garlic is a little smaller than what is grown in a good year. There has been less water damage than expected and the curing has been commendable which demonstrates that growers have coped with the challenges well.”

This year there are fewer entries but more entrants than 2023. This means that more garlic growers entered fewer garlics.
We look forward to more seasonable weather and a fabulous garlic season in in 2024.


Entries are not ranked; each garlic Group is unique and judged according to the garlic Group characteristics.
Garlic is judged on its merit and a score out of 100% is determined by assessing the following attributes:
– Aroma (20%)
– Condition (20%) – Garlic health
– Quality (20%) – Appearance
– Uniformity (10%) – Similarity of size and characteristics
– Flavour (30%)

Medals are awarded when scores are in the following range:
– Gold 90-100 points
– Silver 82-89 Points
– Bronze 74-81 Points


Thank you to our expert judges.
L-R: Sui Ling Hui, Penny Woodward and Michele Jordan
Read more

The 2024 Awards are a collaboration between the AGIA and William Angliss Institute Melbourne.